top of page
  • Writer's pictureSWAGG Devotions

Helmet, Shield, and Sword: Shield of Faith

This is the first part of the second installment of our two-month series about the armor of God. This month we'll talk about praying on the Shield of Faith - 7/8, the Helmet of Salvation - 7/22, and the Sword of the Spirit - 7/29.

Photo by Anna Saveleva on Unsplash


The book of Hebrews holds the definition of faith, examples of it in action, and the purpose of faith.


It defines faith as having a strong hope, a confidence, or a firm assurance in something or someone. The author tells us that our faith is what pleases God, that without it we CAN’T please Him. We learn, in Ephesians, that through faith in Jesus and His grace is how we’re saved. No work is needed from us to be seen as enough to be rescued. Furthermore, if we’re expecting God to move and for evil to be pushed back we need to have STEADY faith. James warns us to not be like waves, which are controlled by the wind and aren’t in a constant state of peaceful order.


Four steps to praying on our shield are: First, be honest with ourselves and God about our faith. In Mark 9, we see a man asking Jesus to help his demon-possessed son; in his request he says, “if you can.” Instead of Jesus just ignoring this doubt, He takes time to discuss it with the man. Jesus desires to have conversations with us about our faith. Second, declare our belief or our desire to believe. In his discussion about his faith with Jesus, he makes an impactful declaration of his lack of faith and his desire to have more. Sometimes, this feels like the only thing we’re able to do when we feel overwhelmed. Third, pray that God would strengthen our faith. Now, it’s time to put what little faith we have into action by asking God and then believing in Him to grow our faith. Fourth, use Hebrews 11 as a prayer prompt for faith. This passage is full of motivation, challenges, and hope – making it a great inspiration for our prayers for faith.


How to use your shield: To confront doubt, lies, and evil – This shield should be used to extinguish doubt, block lies, and disrupt corruption. For protection while resting – Just as Moses’ parents, among others, used their shield of faith for protection as they went about their lives and even slept at night, you can use yours to protect you when danger is near. As a reminder that the Shield Provider is greater and sturdier than the shield itself – Even if you’re drowning in your lack of faith, God, in His love for you, will rescue you if you just call out to Him.


God’s Guidance:

Ephesians 6:16 (NIV) – “In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.”


Hebrews 11:1 (NIV) – “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”


Hebrews 11:6 (NIV) – “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”


Ephesians 2:8-9 (NIV) – “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.”


Mark 9:17-19 (NIV) – “A man in the crowd answered, “Teacher, I brought you my son, who is possessed by a spirit that has robbed him of speech. Whenever it seizes him, it throws him to the ground. He foams at the mouth, gnashes his teeth and becomes rigid. I asked your disciples to drive out the spirit, but they could not.” “You unbelieving generation,” Jesus replied, “how long shall I stay with you? How long shall I put up with you? Bring the boy to me.””


James 1:5-7 (NIV) – “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.”


Mark 9:22-27 (NIV) – ““It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.” “‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.” Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” When Jesus saw that a crowd was running to the scene, he rebuked the impure spirit. “You deaf and mute spirit,” he said, “I command you, come out of him and never enter him again.” The spirit shrieked, convulsed him violently and came out. The boy looked so much like a corpse that many said, “He’s dead.” But Jesus took him by the hand and lifted him to his feet, and he stood up.”


Hebrews 11:23 (NIV) – “By faith Moses’ parents hid him for three months after he was born, because they saw he was no ordinary child, and they were not afraid of the king’s edict.”


Matthew 14:28-31 (NIV) – ““Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?””


Psalms 18:19 (CEV) – “When I was fenced in, you freed and rescued me because you love me.”


Application:

1. Envision or even draw a shield of faith, so that when you are experiencing hardships, you can think of it and let it draw toward Jesus

2. Pray Hebrews 11 over yourself this week

3. Talk with God about your lack of faith and ask Him for His help in the matter


Strength Point:

Having faith might seem daunting; yet, it’s actually a gracious opportunity from God to receive protection and gather peace in our hearts.


Song of the Week:


Prayer Prompt:

Hi Jesus! Thank You for the Shield of Faith. You tell me that my faith in You is what I can use to push back evil. That just having hope in Your Name and belief in who You are can make wickedness run away! I’m sorry for my severe lack of faith, my God. Search my heart and remove anything that’s hindering my faith in You. Help my unbelief! I pray on my Shield of Faith. In times of sickness and __, teach me to position my shield over me for protection as I get the rest I need. Remind me to place my shield before me, when _ and violence surround me. Grow my faith and awareness of Your voice, so I will be ready to raise my shield to block Satan’s fiery arrows. Just as I’d want the strongest shield I could get, don’t let me settle for a weak faith. Thank You for not letting me drown in my unbelief. You are a good God who reaches down and rescues me because You love me! I love You, Lord! In Jesus’ Name, I pray, amen.


A Prayer to Pray over Others:

Hi Jesus! Thank You for the Shield of Faith. You tell us that our faith in You is what we can use to push back evil. That just having hope in Your Name and belief in who You are can make wickedness run away! Help my friend, God, to not deal with lack of faith issues on their own. Search their heart and remove anything that’s hindering their faith in You. Help my friend’s unbelief! I pray on them the Shield of Faith. In times of sickness and grief, teach my friend to position their shield over them for protection as they get the rest they need. Remind them to place their shield before them, when corruption and violence surround my friend. Grow their faith and awareness of Your voice, so they’ll be ready to raise their shield to block Satan’s fiery arrows. Just as they’d want the strongest shield they could get, don’t let my friend settle for a weak faith. Thank You for not letting us drown in our unbelief. You are a good God who reaches down and rescues us because You love us! I love You, Lord! In Your Name, Jesus, I pray, amen.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page