top of page
  • Writer's pictureSWAGG Devotions

Pray on Our Armor: Belt of Truth

Last Sunday, I had the worst migraine I've had since Christmas, which I'm pretty sure was the worst migraine I've ever had. I was barely able to function and was just trying to find relief. At one point, I was moaning, I'm sure very annoyingly, while trying to eat dinner with my family.


I ended up taking a nap on the couch for the evening, for I felt hopeless and tired. People who know me, know it must be bad if I'm willing to take a nap. Altogether, the headache brought me down and blocked me from really doing anything.


I feel like lies often do the same thing. They bring us down into this hopeless state. They stall our production, sometimes to the point that we question ever going back to it. They give us the desire to isolate ourselves, becoming paranoid of what everyone could be thinking about us. They make us question our joy of living. They put us into a spiritually exhausted mindset that just makes us want to sleep emotionally and stay stagnant.


I've heard before that the armor of God was described in the order that a soldier, back then, would've put on their armor. That would make the Belt of Truth a foundational part of the armor. That as we prepare to fight against evil and defend against attacks, we need to start with grasping and holding on to Biblical truths.


Not only is this true, but I also believe that God used a belt to symbolize truth because it's what holds us up.


Just as a belt holds up a pair of pants, especially when we're being active, truth holds us up when lies are trying to pull us down.

Now that we have an idea of who we’re fighting, it’s time to armor up! The Belt of Truth goes on first.


Jesus speaks not just about truth, but the truth. He shared that if people follow his teaching they would know the truth. A couple chapters later, Jesus tells His disciples that He is the truth. Jesus is personified truth. Satan, who is the father of lies and pretty much only speaks lies, contrasts Jesus who is truth and can speak only truth. God can’t lie and Jesus is part of God. We also see how interlocking truth is with God by noticing that a name for the Holy Spirit is the Spirit of truth. Proverbs advises us to recognize that truth is lasting and just, whereas deceit dwells with evil, doesn’t give joy, and will lose to truth in the end.


Four tips to praying the Belt of Truth on: One, ask God to sanctify us in truth. Ask God to purify our minds and desires with truth, to separate lies, rumors, and opinions from the real truth. Two, pray verses over ourselves and surround ourselves with scripture. Jesus states that God’s words are truth, which includes the Bible. This means we can use verses and passages from it to create an atmosphere for praying our belts on. Three, cover our thoughts, words, and actions with prayer. Pray that they’d be full of truth and avoid any deceit. Four, tell God our desire to follow His ways and to be taught by Him. This type of prayer is found multiple times in the book of Psalms. Being honest with God and yourself, on where you are versus where you want to be regarding being truthful is a great step in praying on our belts.


You can use your belt in the ways you: Love others – Your love shouldn’t be fake, but should be expression of God’s true love that lives in you. Ask, talk, and worship God – He doesn’t like it when followers don’t actually mean what they say, sing or do, you need to lean into the Belt of Truth to be completely honest with God. Know and understand God better – We can use the Belt of Truth to get to know God better and totally trust Him. Live – It can lead to making godly decisions and discerning what’s true and just. Stay upright – The Belt of Truth holds you up against the lies that try to pull you down.


God’s Guidance:

Ephesians 6:13-14 (NIV) – “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,”


John 8:31-32 (NIV) – “To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.””


John 14:5-6 (NIV) – “Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”


John 8:44 (NIV) – “You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”


Hebrews 6:17-18 (NIV) – “Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, he confirmed it with an oath. God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope set before us may be greatly encouraged.”


John 16:12-13 (NIV) – ““I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.”


Proverbs 12:19-20 (NIV) – “Truthful lips endure forever, but a lying tongue lasts only a moment. Deceit is in the hearts of those who plot evil, but those who promote peace have joy.”


John 17:17 (NIV) – “Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth.”


Psalms 34:12-13 (NIV) – “Whoever of you loves life and desires to see many good days, keep your tongue from evil and your lips from telling lies.”


Psalms 25:5 (NIV) – “Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.”


Psalms 43:3 (ESV) – “Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!”


Psalms 86:11 (ESV) – “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.


1 Peter 1:22 (NIV) – “Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for each other, love one another deeply, from the heart.”


1 John 3:18 (NIV) – “Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.”


Psalms 145:18 (NIV) – “The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.”


John 4:24 (NIV) – “God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.””


Colossians 1:6 (NLT) – “This same Good News that came to you is going out all over the world. It is bearing fruit everywhere by changing lives, just as it changed your lives from the day you first heard and understood the truth about God’s wonderful grace.”


3 John 1:3 (NIV) – “It gave me great joy when some believers came and testified about your faithfulness to the truth, telling how you continue to walk in it.”


Application:

1. Listen to an audio Bible as you fall asleep, Audible and Dwell have sleep timers

2. Each morning pray truth over your thoughts, words, and actions for the day

3. Pray on your Belt of Truth before your worship time


Strength Point:

With how much God values truth, we know we have His constant help with putting on our Belt of Truth.


Song of the Week:


Reflection Question:

What do Satan's lie attacks do to you?


Prayer Prompt:

Hi Jesus! Thank You for being truth and speaking truth. I can trust every promise you make. Nothing is anywhere close to as trustworthy as You are. I’m sorry for doubting You, for believing the lies of Satan and others over who You are and what You say. I humbly come to You, God, to ask for the wisdom to discern between lies and truth. Remind me to listen to the nudges of the Holy Spirit as He guides me toward what is true. It’s so easily to fall into the deception that I’m not __, that You __, and that I must __. I pray on the belt of truth You provide to me. Let it hold me upright as I follow Your calling on my life, so that I don’t stop, become distracted, or get easily tired from lie attacks. Lead me to the truths that I need to keep with me as I go through this season of life. I know that to succeed in carrying out the things You have placed on my heart, I need You and Your truths. Thank You for making Your truths known to me! I love You, Lord! In Jesus’ Name, I pray, amen.


A Prayer to Pray over Others:

Hi Jesus! Thank You for being truth and speaking truth. We can trust every promise you make. Nothing is anywhere close to as trustworthy as You are. Help my friend to not doubt You, to not believe the lies of Satan and others over who You are and what You say. I humbly come to You, God, to ask for wisdom for my friend to discern between lies and truth. Remind them to listen to the nudges of the Holy Spirit as He guides them toward what is true. It’s so easily to fall into the deception that they’re not able, that You are angry at them, and that they must work for Your love. I pray the belt of truth that You provide onto my friend. Let it hold them upright as they follow Your calling on their life, so that they don’t stop, become distracted, or get easily tired from lie attacks. Lead my friend to the truths that they need to keep with them as they go through this season of life. I know that to succeed in carrying out the things You have placed on their heart, they need You and Your truths. Thank You for making Your truths known to us! I love You, Lord! In Your Name, Jesus, I pray, amen.


It’s Chronic Headache and Migraine Awareness Month. If you or someone you know battles with either of these, take time to pray the armor of God over yourself or the other person during the pain to promote spiritual protection.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page