top of page
  • Writer's pictureSWAGG Devotions

Pray on Our Armor: Shoes of Readiness

Anyone who has kids knows that you need the right shoes on to go outside with them. You have to be ready to stick your feet in weeds, run after the kids, get wet, or kick a ball. Just as there are the right shoes to put on physically depending on your circumstances, God has specific shoes for us to wear spiritually - the Shoes of Readiness.


Here are three things that God's revealed to me in the last couple of weeks about these shoes:

Overwhelming fear, doubt, stress, anxiety, and depression are all warnings that we aren't wearing the Shoes of Readiness. These feelings should propel us into prayer.


These shoes that God provides us are Shoes of Readiness - not Shoes of Initiation. I'm not saying that we're to never be the initiator of action; however, I believe that the name of these shoes proves that we need to wait on God's timing and pray for the opportunities He creates and plants us in.


The Shoes of Readiness are based on the peace of Jesus' love and sacrifice. Therefore, these shoes should NEVER be used to stir up violence, meaningless arguments, or division.

We aren’t alone in any part of our battle, even including armoring up.


Peter experienced this both in a physical and spiritual sense. At the time of Jesus’ arrest, Peter was entering a spiritual battle. He didn’t know this, but Jesus did and reminded him multiple times to pray. Peter didn’t listen though and ended up sinning. Years later, Peter was being imprisoned, but God sent an angel to break him out. After the angel woke him up, he immediately tells Peter to get up and put his clothes and shoes on. To do what? Leave – escape! This is a physical representation of part of why we need our Shoes of Readiness on – to be ready to leave and escape temptation. Peter is actually the one that God inspired to write about readiness. He defines it as being alert, watchful, and clear minded. Being ready doesn’t mean taking immediate action, but instead to watch for and know when God’s calling us into action.


Four tips to praying on our shoes are: One, pray them on continually. We’re commanded to pray continually, having a mind that’s alert to processing thoughts and stimuli with prayer, so why not involve praying on our shoes – in the long run, having them on will circle around to help us pray constantly. Two, pray a resistance prayer. Jesus told Peter to pray against coming temptation and then Peter told us to resist Satan. We need to pray for our shoes to help us combat sin and even Satan. Three, pray for an understanding of God’s plan. Not understanding what His plan is can hinder our confident readiness. That’s why asking God for clarity on His plan and patience to wait on His timing are important. Pray over our weaknesses and obstacles. Presenting our fears and hesitancies to God is our first step to overcoming them.


Here’s how your shoes help you: They are fitted with readiness to your feet – These shoes equip you to be ready for the callings God has placed on your life. The shoes remind you of your foundation – Your Shoes of Readiness are meant to inspire your heart to lead others to Jesus, all while doing it in peace. They prepare you to stand firm – Your shoes aren’t just for being ready to “go” or “do”, but to also ready you for times of needed stability.


God’s Guidance:

Ephesians 6:13-15 (NIV) – “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.”


Luke 22:39-40 (NIV) – “Jesus went out as usual to the Mount of Olives, and his disciples followed him. On reaching the place, he said to them, “Pray that you will not fall into temptation.””


Mark 14:37-38 (NIV) – “Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Simon,” he said to Peter, “are you asleep? Couldn’t you keep watch for one hour? Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.””


Acts 12:6-9 (NIV) – “The night before Herod was to bring him to trial, Peter was sleeping between two soldiers, bound with two chains, and sentries stood guard at the entrance. Suddenly an angel of the Lord appeared and a light shone in the cell. He struck Peter on the side and woke him up. “Quick, get up!” he said, and the chains fell off Peter’s wrists. Then the angel said to him, “Put on your clothes and sandals.” And Peter did so. “Wrap your cloak around you and follow me,” the angel told him. Peter followed him out of the prison, but he had no idea that what the angel was doing was really happening; he thought he was seeing a vision.”


1 Peter 5:8-9 (NIV) – “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.”


1 Peter 1:13 (NIV) – “Therefore, with minds that are alert and fully sober, set your hope on the grace to be brought to you when Jesus Christ is revealed at his coming.”


Micah 4:11-13 (NIV) – “But now many nations are gathered against you. They say, “Let her be defiled, let our eyes gloat over Zion!” But they do not know the thoughts of the Lord; they do not understand his plan, that he has gathered them like sheaves to the threshing floor. “Rise and thresh, Daughter Zion, for I will give you horns of iron; I will give you hooves of bronze, and you will break to pieces many nations.” You will devote their ill-gotten gains to the Lord, their wealth to the Lord of all the earth.”


1 Thessalonians 5:17 (NIV) – “pray continually,”


Application:

1. Have a conversation with God about why you don’t feel ready for a possible calling, lay them at His feet as many times as needed

2. If you’re feeling called to join, start, or do something, ask God about opening up opportunities in His perfect timing – don’t forget to ask for patience

3. Try filtering all your thoughts, feelings, and experiences through prayer this week


Strength Point:

In the Old Testament, God would ask people, as they approached Him, to take off their physical shoes. Now that we have constant access to Him, God calls us to put on the holy and peaceful shoes He’s provided for our spirit.


Song of the Week:


Reflection Question:

What are your favorite type of shoes to wear?


Prayer Prompt:

Hi Jesus! Thank You for the Shoes of Readiness. You have the wisdom and understanding of what type of armor I need for each area of my spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical health. I’m sorry, God, for not being ready when You call me into action. Sometimes, my fear, doubt, anxiety, and depression overwhelm me, and I listen to them over You. Please, let me use them as warning signs to remind me to pray on my armor that’s from You. When I’m in danger, press into me to pray on my shoes. When doubt is killing my enthusiasm and hope, remind me to pray my shoes on. When I’m confused or being stretched a part, teach me that I need my shoes. When I lack energy and feeling, I ask that the Holy Spirit would intercede for me to pray on my shoes. I pray, with my Shoes of Readiness on, that I would wait on Your timing to take action. Thank You for being patient with me. I need Your power to lace up these boots. I love You, Lord! In Jesus’ Name, I pray, amen.


A Prayer to Pray over Others:

Hi Jesus! Thank You for the Shoes of Readiness. You have the wisdom and understanding of what type of armor we need for each area of our spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical health. Help my friend to be ready when You call them into action. Sometimes, their fear, doubt, anxiety, and depression will overwhelm them, and they’ll be tempted to listen to those feelings over You. Please, let my friend use these as warning signs to remind them to pray on their armor that’s from You. When they’re in danger, press into them to pray on their shoes. When doubt is killing my friend’s enthusiasm and hope, remind them to pray their shoes on. When they’re confused or being stretched a part, teach them that they need their shoes. When my friend’s lacking energy and feeling, I ask that the Holy Spirit would intercede for them to pray on their shoes. I pray, with their Shoes of Readiness on, that my friend would wait on Your timing to take action. Thank You for being patient with us. We need Your power to lace up these boots. I love You, Lord! In Your Name, Jesus, I pray, amen.


Happy 4th of July!! Take time this holiday to praise God for the freedoms we receive in our country and to pray for our military members and their families. All the while, realizing that the freedoms and life experiences we have access to through the US doesn’t compare at all to the freedom and future home we have in Jesus.

bottom of page